MPS Announces Sharon Marion (Lakehoma ES) As District Teacher of the Year (2023-24)

Sharon Marion heatshot

Mustang Public Schools Announces District Teacher of the Year 

(Mustang, Oklahoma – April 19, 2024)—Mustang Public Schools (MPS) held a celebration on Thursday, April 18 honoring numerous staff members, including those who received grants, completed advanced degrees, and/or received certifications/recognitions. The culmination was the announcement of Lakehoma Elementary School Teacher Sharon Marion, who took home top honors as the 2023-2024 MPS District Teacher of the Year.  

Following the announcement at the celebration event, the District took to social media to celebrate her.  "Sharon has been an extraordinary addition to the school since joining the team in 2021,” according to Lakehoma Principal Shawna Carter.  “Her passion, innovation, and dedication to students have truly set her apart.” 

“We had seventeen deserving candidates for our District Teacher of the Year,” Superintendent Charles Bradley said.  “The [Teacher of the Year] committee really had their work cut out for them, but in the end, Mrs. Marion was their nominee, and we could not be more proud.” 

Sharon graduated from Hobart High School (Hobart, OK) in 1990 before venturing to the University of Central Oklahoma, where she earned her Bachelor of Science degree in

Decorative: Sharon Marion DTOY Graphic

Education. She began her teaching career with Edmond Public Schools in 1994 before moving to Heritage Hall Schools in 2005 and Mustang in 2021.

“As a teacher, my primary goal is to inspire a genuine love for learning and foster growth in my students,” Marion said.  “I am dedicated to sharing knowledge and nurturing critical thinking, and want my students to have a passion for learning. I aim to create a positive and supportive classroom where each student strives to reach their full potential with determination and perseverance.”  

One of Mrs. Marion’s students, Royce Escobedo, stated that “Mrs. Marion is funny and kind. She always forgives us when we make mistakes, and we do lots of fun stuff in class every day.”  

“We are very proud of all of our seventeen candidates and are fortunate to have them as representatives of Mustang Public Schools,” Superintendent Bradley said.  “The excellence that they exhibit each day, their caring for our students, and their willingness to go above and beyond are the epitome of what it means to be a Mustang Bronco.”  

2023-24 MPS Teachers of the Year were eligible for the District TOTY Honor:

   Congratulations to the seventeen teachers who have been named Teachers of the Year for Mustang Public Schools! These educators have been chosen for their dedication, passion, and outstanding contributions to their students and their respective schools.



Deanna Baxter


Carmen Danker


Chanae Jones


Deana Silk


Emily Holmes


Erin Bailey


Jared Palmer


Jenny Allen


Kortney Gosnell


Kyle Farnham


Lindsey Hill


Mackenzie Sheffield

Prairie View

Madge Brosh

Meadow Brook

Sharon Marion


Stacey Stevens


Tiffany Dorris


Jana Thatcher

Canyon Ridge

  Each of these teachers has a talent for making complex subjects accessible and engaging, and has created a positive and supportive learning environment in their classrooms. They have also been instrumental in implementing innovative teaching strategies and incorporating new technologies to enhance the learning experience.

   In addition to their work in the classroom, these teachers have been leaders in their school communities, organizing extracurricular activities and serving as mentors to their colleagues. They have also been active in professional development opportunities, staying up-to-date on the latest research and best practices in education.

   We are honored to have such talented and dedicated teachers as a part of our team, and we congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition.


About Mustang Public Schools

The Mustang Public School District covers over 72 square miles in Oklahoma and Canadian counties with the City of Mustang at its center. The district is the largest employer in Canadian County, with more than 1,600 certified and support employees. Voted one of Oklahoma’s Top Workplaces for the past two years, the school district offers a comprehensive compensation package for full-time employees, in addition to a satisfying working environment. There are eight (soon to be nine) elementary schools (grades PreK-4), three intermediate centers (grades 5-6), three middle schools (grades 7-8), one high school (grades 9-12), and an educational center which houses pre-kindergarten and alternative education.
Facebook/Twitter - @MustangSchools
Instagram - @MustangPS

  • District News
  • Lakehoma