Welcome To Mustang Public Schools
   Information concerning the Academic & Health/Safety Plans for Mustang Public Schools. 

Need to report a COVID-19 exposure, positive test, or close contact?   
Please email  [email protected] and someone from the MPS COVID-19 Response Team will be in touch.
Please reach out to your/the specific school with any site-specific questions (contact information is on each school website).  
 You may also contact our Administration Building by email in the event of an urgent need or emergency, and we will respond as soon as possible.

Empowering Today to Achieve a Better Tomorrow


Public Schools

About Us

Teacher of the Year 2019-2020

Mrs. Maples and family Congratulations to Mrs. Sheri Maples for being selected as our Teacher of the Year for 2019-2020! More info to follow!

About Lakehoma


Lakehoma Elementary was the third Mustang elementary school, which was built in 1978. The principal was Mr. Larry Bruce. Our school secretary was Mrs. Sandy Jantz. Mrs. Vickie Hadlock was our cafeteria manager. Our custodian was Mr. Melton. That year we were home to 428 students:
58 Kindergarten students (Mrs. Knippers, Mrs. Stewart); 89 First Grade students (Mrs. Armstrong, Mrs. Berry, Mrs. Howard, Mrs. Mayo); 72 Second Grade students (Mrs. Graham, Mrs. Owens, Mrs. Smith); 69 Third students (Mrs. Goodman, Mrs. Homan, Mrs. Purdy); 69 Fourth students (Ms. Hull, Mrs. Moen, Mrs. Schwartz); 71 Fifth Grade students (Mrs. Engel, Mrs. Fishburn, Ms. Holmes). The essential teachers were: Mrs. Maynard-Counselor; Ms. Wedman-PE; Ms. St.Cyr-Art; Ms. Burchett-Reading; Mrs. Crowder-Music; Ms. Prather-Library Media Specialist; Mrs. Womack-Learning Lab; Ms. O'Toole-Learning Lab. 

For many years, Lakehoma served as a Kindergarten through 5th grade. As the years have changed, the school has grown and developed. Now Lakehoma currently serves students from Pre-Kindergarten to 4th grade. We are seeing some second generation students and it is so much fun to see the Lakehoma tradition continue.

We are a Great Expectations Model school. This means that we have been recognized by the character education program, Great Expectations, as having implemented the practices so thoroughly we are a model of their program.

Previous TOTY Winners

2018-2019      Ayrial Lawhon, 1st Grade 
2017-2018      Kelly Bullard, 4th Grade 
 2016-2017 Amy Leochner, 1st Grade
2015-2016 Belinda Bennett, Kindergarten 
2014-2015 Amber Terrell, 4th Grade
2013-2014 Vikki Dodson, 2nd Grade
2012-2013 Sonya Glover, 1st/2nd Grade
2011-2012-Kendra Cope, Spec. Ed
2010-11 Melissa White, Counselor
2009-10 Terri Dill 4th Grade
2008-09 Mary Jane McDonald 5th Grade
2007-08 Jenny Prather 1st Grade
2006-07 Paula McCullough Reading Lab
2006-07 District Teacher of the Year Paula McCullough
2005-06 Kim Iraggi 5th Grade
2004-05 Liz Barber 3rd Grade
2003-04 Guy Walcher 5th Grade
2002-03 Linda Womack Spec. Ed.
2001-02 Jana Countryman 4th Grade
2000-01 Cheryl Burchett 1st Grade
1999-00 Laura Scalf 3rd Grade
1998-99 Rick Burroughs PE
1997-98 Ann Willett 5th Grade
1996-97 Paula McCullough 3rd Grade
1995-96 Kathy Neuenshwander 3rd Grade
1994-95 Ginger Jacob 3rd Grade
1993-94 Terre McDonald Music
1992-93 Judy Sternberger 4th Grade
1991-92 Pat Hildebrant 4th Grade
1990-91 Connie Graham 2nd Grade
1989-90 Linda Womack Spec. Ed.
1988-89 Paula McCullough 2nd Grade
1986-87 Earlyne Fishburn 5th Grade
1985-86 Pam McLaughlin 5th Grade