Follow Us on Twitter
Fulton named one of five OSSBA 2016 All-State School Board Members  

Five Oklahoma school board members have been named to the Oklahoma State School Boards Association's 2016 All-State School Board for their outstanding service on their local school boards and to the state, including Mustang's own Board President Chad Fulton.

Superintendent Sean McDaniel described Fulton as a "superstar board member."

"Chad has three of his own children in the district but believes that his decisions should have an impact on all children. He expresses frequently that it is all of our responsibilities to provide as many opportunities for our students as we can," McDaniel wrote in Fulton's nomination application.


McDaniel described a three-tier motto Fulton uses to make decisions: Is it good for students? Is it good for the district? Is it good for the community?

Fulton is known in the community for his open-door policy in discussing school district issues and as a studious, prepared board member and excellent leader who mentors new board members. McDaniel said Fulton's willingness to ask challenging questions has been invaluable as the district has embarked on bond issues and construction projects.

"Chad is relentless about gathering information so that the space is exactly what Mustang needs. One of Chad's trademark characteristics is paying attention to the little things and because of that, Mustang has constructed some of the finest and most beautiful and practical facilities anywhere," McDaniel said.

OSSBA Executive Director Shawn Hime said school board members are invaluable.

"Local school board members play a critical role in our communities as they work to make sure our children are well-prepared for the future," Hime said. "We are proud to honor these board members for their dedication, commitment and service."

The All-State board is an honorary board that includes five of the most outstanding board members of the year. Nominations can come from superintendents or other board members, and winners are selected by a committee of board members who serve on OSSBA's board of directors. The selection committee doesn't include board members from nominee districts. Each winner receives $400 for their district to spend on instructional materials.

The committee also selects one All-State board member to receive the Buddy Spencer Leadership Award. The recipient must demonstrate leadership on a local or state level and a dedication to improving his or her boardsmanship. The award includes $600 for the district to spend on instructional materials.

The winners will be honored at the annual Oklahoma State School Boards Association/Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration joint conference on Aug. 27 in Oklahoma City.

Other winners included: Kevin Clark, Stillwater; Beverly Felton, Little Axe; Brett Ramsey, Jones; and Dr. Lana Turner-Addison, Tulsa. Clark also was selected as the recipient of the Buddy Spencer Leadership Award.

Print This Article
© 2020. Mustang Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.